You may have heard that Florida is a “no-fault” state and wondered what this phrase means. Understanding this concept is especially important for drivers who have been in an auto accident.
Here’s how it works. In no-fault states, drivers must purchase insurance policies with a minimum of $10,000 PIP (personal injury protection) benefits. The policy must also have a $10,000 no-fault PDL, or Property Damage Liability, that covers medical, surgical, and funeral costs.
What No-Fault Insurance Covers
Under Florida statutes, no-fault laws require insurance to cover some or all of the cost of your auto accident—regardless of who was at fault.…